Top Menu



Through Connect2Learn each LS R-7 student to receive Chromebook to use at school and at home

Visit website for more information about district’s launch of one-to-one program.

The Lee’s Summit R-7 School District will provide Dell Chromebooks for all students – kindergarten through high school – in fall 2015. Each student should receive a Chromebook by Labor Day 2015.

Known as Connect2Learn, the Chromebook rollout supports school district priorities and is an important step toward further developing engaged learners and meeting the district’s mission — We prepare each student for success in life. Increased access to digital devices increases equity among all students and helps support the way students learn and teachers teach. Within this innovative learning environment, students can also be more engaged in the learning experience.

Through Connect2Learn, students will have access to this powerful learning tool both at home and at school, regardless of family income or ability to purchase the digital devices.

        For more information about Connect2Learn, please visit  This website features a popular FAQs page that is updated as additional questions about the program are submitted. This FAQs web page also provides an opportunity for individuals to recommend new questions. Twitter followers are encouraged to keep up with information about the rollout at the hashtag #r7connect2learn.

Continue Reading

Technology Parent Survey

Dear parents and/or guardians: 

The Lees Summit R-7 School District will provide a Dell Chromebook for all students starting in the fall of 2015. The Chromebook rollout, dubbed Connect2Learn, supports district priorities and is an important step toward further developing engaged learners and meeting the district’s mission. Increased access to digital devices is designed to enhance student learning, create opportunities for more personalized and deeper learning experiences and provide students with the tools they use now and will encounter in their future.

LSR7 has partnered with BrightBytes, an educational research and analytics company, in order to learn more about our students’ school and home technology use for learning.

We are reaching out to ask you to take part in our LSR7 technology questionnaire. Your participation is essential in helping us form a more complete picture of technology use for learning in our students’ lives. Please know that all of your responses will remain anonymous to protect your privacy and they will help your child’s school measure technology use in their classrooms. It will also aid LSR7 in identifying training opportunities for staff, students, and parents.  It will take approximately 5 minutes to complete.

The last day to complete this questionnaire is May 27th at 11:59 PM.

To complete the survey, please go to:

Thank you for taking part in this important survey!


Carrie Freeman

Continue Reading
dunk tank

Contribute Cash to make a Splash

Win a chance to dunk a teacher from the
Dunk Tank Team at Field Day!
For $1 students can put their name in a drawing for a
chance to dunk a teacher from the Dunk Tank Team.
A collection table will be set up in the front lobby
during the mornings of Monday, May 11th through
Friday, May 15th.

Click here for more details: Dunk Tankv3

Continue Reading

Welcome Sandy Kilkenny to GWE!

Greenwood Elementary would like to welcome Sandy Kilkenny, the new Administrative Assistant to Ms. Freeman.  Sandy is replacing Lisa Goble, who is moving to Stansberry Leadership Center as a Human Resource Specialist.  Sandy comes from Great Beginnings where she has been the Head Start secretary this year. Before that, Sandy was principal’s secretary of Little Blue in the Raytown School District. She comes to us with amazing recommendations and experience.

Continue Reading

Debbie Griffey Missouri School Nutrition Association Employee of the Year!

Congratulations to our very own Debbie Griffey for winning the School Nutrition Association Employee of the Year award for the state of Missouri! This award recognizes non-managerial school nutrition employees for the contributions they have made throughout their school nutrition career to prepare and serve healthy and appealing meals to students.
Debbie will be honored at the Missouri School Nutrition Association conference in November.
The organization is honored to give Debbie the Employee of the Year award! And her Greenwood family is proud!


Continue Reading